Dark bondage

    In the bleakness 

Of my room I stand

In the bleakness

Of my room do my thoughts flow

In the bleakness 

Of my room does my nakedness appear

Do I see my dark heart

For ‘they’ call me so

  
    After my skin color

They judge me

On seeing me come

They say:

‘The black man with the black heart’

‘Here he comes’

 
   They plot evil against me

My treasuries are all they see and want

On round tables
4&5 do they sit to decide my fate

They share my wealth amongst themselves

Without my consent and will

 
   They come with deceptive fruits

Glittering gold

Which will fade as time passes

Guns,spirits and pipes they bring to my table

‘Use this to protect yourself;take this for your heart and puff this for prestige’

They say

But today,my days on earth are numbered because of the white man’s liquor and pipe

   
   In my ignorance

They make me drop my ink on white paper

I’ve signed off my generation

For my barns and treasuries 

Have I given them on the platter of the white paper

And they’ve taken not just the barns I signed off

But they’ve extended their tentacles in greed

They’ve breached our contracts

Broken into my den

And captured my cubs

They’ve left me toothless

A lion I was

But now

I’m just a toothless bulldog

  
  And they say

I have a black heart

Tell me my people

You my accusers

You who call me ‘black man’

Even with your half baked skin color

Whose with a black heart
Me or you?

#Pendropspoetry

Leave a Reply

