Lamentations Of A Woman

I had a good suitor.. 

From the south 

He had all I needed

But I was blinded

By things unknown

    I met another suitor

Tall, light-skinned, gap-toothed

To me, he was poor, not knowing he owned 

Riches beyond measure

For that he said ‘I’m but a poor man,i have nothing’
I believed because I wasn’t interested in his wealth, but his attitude and personality 

He was a MAN 

For he made decisions and they were never challenged by me.. 

I felt I had found protection for my evil days

I felt I had found the kind of man who will fight off ‘my battles’,wrestle with my past and give me a bright future.. Restore my dignity and pride amongst other women.. 

So I thought.. 

   He is from the North… 

My parents kicked against it

For I was of the southern blood

They reminded me of history

And told me it was all but a camouflage 

But I wouldn’t listen… 

Some of my so-called uncles and aunties 

Who in my parent’s presence would rebuke me,but in their absence will collect gift items brought from the NORTH. 

THEY SAID ‘NORTH WILL BRING US GRAINS, TOMATOES, ONIONS….. ‘

With their support I married the North.. 

I moved to the strange land

Where in their language I understood not and spake not.. 

My in-laws sat in front of me and plotted evil against me and my people but I never knew. 

My husband with all his ‘wealth’ never gave me a taste of it.. He rather said ‘These aren’t mine alone, my but the ‘family’s’

He declared his assets before me… 

He had only few cows and a land…. 

What a shame!!!

They told me to worship their God

‘bow at the sight of the moon 🌙 ”

They said

 But by some superior force.. 
The Moon didn’t desire the worship of stiff necked people

For days they wailed

 But no! it didn’t answer to them.. 

I have gone through a lot of struggles, pains, reproach,shame and disgrace.. 

My sorrows know no bounds.. 

I curse my aunties and uncles who made me 

Marry the North.. 

For they are the cause of my woes.. 

I fear for my parents,and the innocent people of the south, for they will suffer the wickedness of the North.. 

I weep for myself

For my name can’t be redeemed from this SHAME.. 

I can’t talk in the midst of other women again.. 

My breast is fallen, my ass is joined to my back.. 

I can’t fight against them

For they are too numerous

I hear my southern suitor is married to another, in pride, dignity and respect.. 

I regret the day I said ‘I do… ‘

For my religious belief says,’for better for worse, till death do us part’

WOE TO ME AND MY PEOPLE FOR WE ARE DOOMED!!!

WHO WILL SAVE ME FROM THIS ETERNAL BONDAGE? 

My name is NIGERIA..

#PENDROPS#

 

5 thoughts on “Lamentations Of A Woman

Leave a Reply

